A Man’s Point of View on Nail Polish

 

 BB Couture Men Nail Polish

BB Couture Men Nail Polish

I originally developed an interest in nail polish as a lot of men do, by
admiring the way the intriguing colors sparkle and catch the light on the
nails of many women.  My first experience, and what may have enabled me to
develop my interest with nail polish even further was when my wife was
pregnant with our first son.  She simply could not bend  down and paint her
toenails herself anymore, and so she asked if I would help her out.  I
admit, I was pretty bad at it at first, but I got better with practice, and
eventually became even more enthralled with the fabulous depth and
intriguing colors that nail polish was available in.

I don’t think I am unique in this interest because I know that many men take
notice of bright colors (why do you think many women wear it…?).  And many
men also want to be noticed and complimented (like all of us do, right?).
So, when I had my first experience with a professional pedicure, I just
thought the next logical step would be to try some color.  In fact, I even
received encourgement from my wife on this because she liked the way my feet
looked when they were not all rough and my nails yellow and uneven.  And she
knew of my interest in nail polish as well.  So, I initially tried black and
it turned out looking very decent and appropriate on my guy feet, not
feminine at all.

Since then, I have tried many colors, including colors that some would think
are more feminine looking, and I have settled down (matured?) to wearing
what I consider more ‘masculine’ colors now.  I still like black, but even
more, I like near-blacks with subtle hints of other colors in them (blue,
brown, green and even red).  I also like greens, dark blues, dark maroon
(borderline guy color I think), silvers and some browns.

I put out a few pictures on the web (Flickr) to see what kind of comments I
would get, and to my surprise, I received a lot of responses from both women
and men.  Surprisingly, there are many more men like me who also have an
interest in this.  Sure, a few cross-dresser guys responded too, but the
vast majority of the guys I hear from are straight, many are married, and
like me, they do not have much interest in anything else that you might call
‘feminine’, but they are really excited about wearing their toenails
polished.  How about that for blowing away the common stereotype beliefs!
And their girl friends/spouses appear to be very much in support of it too!

It’s almost like I awoke a sleeping giant when I posted those first pictures
because people started coming out of the woodwork and saying things like
“Hey, I thought it was just me who liked this”, or “Wow, you’ve convinced me
that guys really can have decent looking feet too” and “I guess nail polish
isn’t just for women anymore!”.  Of course, the gals that run some of the
more popular nail blogs have also jumped into the frenzy by posing questions
like “Why don’t more men wear nail polish?” and “Why shouldn’t men wear nail
polish
anyway?”.  The majority of the responses (mostly form women) are
surprisingly positive on this subject.  Even Suzy Weiss-Fischmann who is the
Executive VP & Artistic Director for OPI writes a column on their website,
and she openly encourages men to try nail polish.  She even goes so far as
to even suggest colors that she thinks work well for men (select “for men”
in the sidebar)!

I am convinced that there is a definite movement toward general acceptance
of men wearing their nails polished.  There are just too many guys who
express an interest in it for me to believe otherwise.  But, as you might
expect, many are afraid of reactions being negative, and only until they
actually wear their nails polished in public do they realize that most
people don’t even notice.  In fact, many receive compliments for being ‘man
enough’ for trying it!  The majority of the guys I hear from only paint
their toenails, but a few guys also do their fingernails.

So, has this matured to where most men will now consider it?  Not yet, not
until you see it appear more frequently on TV or in the movies, and when
nail salons start openly promoting it.  I am doing my part to show a good
example, of how it really can work for a guy, and to encourage other guys
who may already have an interest to just try it and see what happens.  After
all, it’s just paint.

And even today, I still am asked to paint my wife’s toenails because she
likes how I do them for her – and she likes the treat!

ToePaintGuy@FlickR.com

5 responses to “A Man’s Point of View on Nail Polish

  1. I think it is great that you are not living life under the umbrella of what society thinks is acceptable. Being different is what makes you unique and special. Kudos to you for being brave enough to step out from the crowd and be different and at the same time be yourself. I look forward to more posts on this subject.

  2. Hey TPG, you know I’m a big fan of your pictures and your pedicures (I’m grapejlee on flickr!) and I’m also a huge fan of men who wear polish.

    Toes, fingers, doesn’t matter, I think that anyone with an interest should be able to wear what they like and enjoy the fabulous addiction that is nail polish. :) I haven’t seen men in person who wear polish, but I’ll definitely compliment them when I find them (I know they’re out there)!

    Thank you for this! I hope it’ll encourage more men to try it out for themselves!

  3. Regarding this article – ‘A man’s Point of View on nail Polish…” – I am so happy that I stumbled across it! I think that the ‘trend’ or whatever you want to call it of men wearing nail polish has really exploded all over the map these last few years!

    I’m in my 40′s, I’ve been married, and I have a 25 yr old daughter. I am quite normal in all regards and very much a proud American ‘living the dream.’ I began wearing nail polish when i was 10 or so, when I first saw Steven Tyler of Aerosmith wearing it. Nowadays – literally tons of rock-and-roll people wear the stuff, and even Hollywood celebs and extreme sports people! Like the author, I initially stayed with the darker colors or black, though now, I’ve even worn some purples, oranges, and reds – especially the team colors to sporting events!

    When my fiance and I go out running errands in public – we are seeing more and more dudes that are wearing the stuff. Will it ever be that 100 % of men will wear it? No. But 100% of men will never wear three-piece suits of green mohawks, either! I just like that certain ‘edge’ that it gives with a given look.

    I’ve found that out of every 100 people that I pass at the store or wherever, about 97% are totally oblivious and either don’t notice or don’t care, about two will actually smile and pay me a compliment, and maybe say ‘Wow – that’s a cool color!’ And, it’s way less then 1%, because, I’ve been wearing the stuff forever it seems and one time I had this old church lady tell me I was going to hell for wearing black polish! (that’s the only negative thing I’ve heard in about 30 years or so!)

    My fiance and I will do each others nails while laying on the couch watching TV, and we both go everywhere (in the warm weather) wearing our sandals proudly showing off our polished nails. Even many friends jokingly call us the ‘nail-polish couple.’ We’ll even go to wedding receptions and such wearing the stuff.

    Anyway – I hate to get too verbose here, so I had beter wind this up. Like it was mentioned, Flickr has tons of straight average everyday normal males that are also very much into wearing nail polish – just because – just because they think it looks cool! I can be found on Flickr myself. Just go to their homepage, type in ‘nail polish’ in the search window. By default, Flickr shows what it calls the ‘most relevant’ photos, with about 25 on a page. Actually, I’m pretty sure that they have included a ton of my photos on that very first page! Just look for the user-name of ‘St. Louis Punk-Rocker.’ Thanks for the opportunity to express myself here! It’s been excellent reading!

  4. i have said it on flickr before, i think you do a wonderful job painting your toes! and am usually jealous of how good they look.
    i think its great that some men feel free enough to be able to paint their toes. there is nothing wrong with it in my book. i think it will be much more accepted in the next few years…..hang in there!!!
    great article!

  5. A well written blog entry. As a dude who wears nail color on his toenails, I couldn’t agree with you more. It started for me in the 7th grade, and nail polish has followed me to this very day! I have met many good friends on Flickr over the last few months with my photos and many have gotten over 100 views. Keep posting your cool pictures on Flickr!

    Mark

Leave a Reply

